Mum Knows Best…. Right?

Today I was going to write a post on why I adore my hubby so much, but that has been put aside for another time as the day has been enlightened thanks to the postman delivering some good news.

Firstly, the official report on Liams heart scan and ECG test last week shows that their studies show him to be perfectly healthy in that region despite his genetic condition. We were never worried but it’s always good to get a clean bill of health.

Secondly we got a letter back from the Special Needs Coordination team (SENCO) regarding getting them special help in school. I’ve had meeting upon meeting, talks with teachers repeatedly being told that James and Liam are both lagging behind other peers in their class.

SENCO do NOT feel that either of them need one to one tuition. (Punches the air)

They say that having seen me, the teachers and the boys in their learning environment, they are satisfied with the additional help they have had put in place at school and home and can see improvement with their work and learning levels over the past year. This shows they are capable of learning what is needed on the curriculum, they are just that little bit delayed in their learning.

Something we have noted and accepted from the beginning. This something I have always believed to be blown out of proportion by the school in the name of “targets”. I’ve never believed, deep down, that they need one on one tuition, just a little more support in class with certain things and group work being enough of a boost.

The boys probably will never be top of their class but not everyone is.

I don’t want to sound blase or like I am not interested in my childrens learning but there is SO much more to life than education and reaching targets that the government set. What will be will be.

What about their personalities, their strengths? Their personal beliefs, the things that make them individuals. We don’t need a world of cloned children all getting A* in everything.

A lot of adults even now struggle to read and write, at ages 5 and 6, they are grasping that now. Those adults with those struggles still have jobs, they have families. In the modern male orientated, now digital world, spelling and writing are no longer essentials for life. Maths is wasted to an extent. As long as my kids grow up learning how to handle money I will be pleased. There is a calculator on every mobile phone, tablet, laptop, PC. Tills in shop tot up the bill, tell you what change to give.  There is spell check. As for a future doing something physical, then practice and training goes a long way.

The point is, just because the school are keen to point out their issues, it doesn’t mean they will be like this for life. School is naturally hard for some people and they blossom into happy confident adults despite being written off by the schools.

I’m personally pleased with the result. I know they are behind but I know they do their best. That’s all any parent really wants of their children. I’m so proud of my little men and that they are achieving targets even if they are a year late. They ARE learning, they are getting experience and that all comes with confidence. Confidence comes from being told they are doing well. Something I’ve always always encouraged in all my kids is masses of praise and over the past few months they have changed so much.

They are so much more mature, settled, happy to follow tasks. They have the concentration, they appreciate the praise and in turn become more confident and stronger in their ways.

Maybe sometimes I may be in a little bubble and don’t see the same problems as the teachers. Maybe sometimes I do get very defensive over my children and don’t always listen. I just tell my boys to do their best.

Even as a mother, I still make mistakes, I get things wrong. I just want to know that I’ve done things to the best of my ability – this is as an adult so for my kids to be making the effort to do what they can, whatever the level they are at fills me with such pride!

The future now, again, rests with the school. The extra work they are doing IS giving out results. The school is doing it’s part and it’s working. It’s if this bond gets broken when the issues will arise.

As much as the school irritates me with all this, I still firmly stand by the fact that if I didn’t think the school were doing what was right for my boys, then I would simply take them out of that school and enrol them in another primary school. Overall,  I am satisfied with the school, I just don’t like the way parents are made to feel failures and have to jump hoops to get the school to look good. But I guess that’s the way it is.

So finally, to recap. Liam is healthy and neither James or Liam need special education help with a one to one teacher. Through knowing my children inside out, my inner gut instincts have been proven right yet again.

Leave a Reply

